Brought to you by the letter “F” and the number “1”

In the service of balance, I consider it my obligation (to you, my dedicated readership that you be) to off-set the Stevie Wonder represented in the Japanese “We are the world” and Vanilla Mood “Ebony and Ivory” with a clip that epitomizes Wonder at his peak. In the early seventies, the man had a run of albums that rivals the output of any musician in the history of recorded music. Depending on how unconditional your Stevie Wonderlove is, that verdant period can run as far back as 1971’s Where I’m Coming From right up to 1980’s Hotter Than July, although sane people tend to cite these five records: Music of My Mind (1972), Talking Book (1972), Innervisions (1973), Fulfillingness’ First Finale (1974) and Songs In The Key of Life (1976) as his masterpieces.

Here’s the man, playing a song you may recognize, on a children’s show you probably watched back when “hot” was “fresh” (if you were a child of the ’80s, I suppose):

Gotta love the kid in the red shirt who is losing her mind. Also, getting two fake endings on “Superstition” is like getting both Metroplex and Omega Supreme in one Christmas. By the way, I heard the song really shook up Big Bird. MF always got paranoid when he was high.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

